MLB Baseball

#38
Mike Montgomery
ERA S K
3.99 0 86
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-5 / 215
Position: RPBorn: 7/1/1989 Birthplace: Mission Hills, California
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: Supplemental Round by Royals (2008)


Latest News
Sep. 30 4:10 PM PT5:10 PM MT6:10 PM CT7:10 PM ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 PM MST6:10 PM EST5:10 PM CST6:40 PM VEN3:10 UAE (+1)6:10 PM CT-Mike Montgomery allowed two runs - one earned - on five hits in 2.1 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 10-5 on Sunday. Montgomery struck out one, ending the game with a 3.99 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 26 9:21 PM PT10:21 PM MT11:21 PM CT12:21 AM ET0:21 ET4:21 GMT12:21 9:21 PM MST11:21 PM EST10:21 PM CST11:51 PM VEN8:21 UAE11:21 PM CT-Mike Montgomery fell to 5-6, allowing five runs on seven hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-0 on Tuesday. Montgomery struck out three, ending the game with a 3.99 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 19 9:54 PM PT10:54 PM MT11:54 PM CT12:54 AM ET0:54 ET4:54 GMT12:54 9:54 PM MST11:54 PM EST10:54 PM CST12:24 AM VEN8:54 UAE11:54 PM CT-Mike Montgomery improved to 5-5, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 9-1 on Tuesday. Montgomery struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.75 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 13 4:56 PM PT5:56 PM MT6:56 PM CT7:56 PM ET19:56 ET23:56 GMT7:56 4:56 PM MST6:56 PM EST5:56 PM CST7:26 PM VEN3:56 UAE (+1)6:56 PM CT-Mike Montgomery allowed two runs on three hits and one walk in 4.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Washington Nationals 4-3 on Thursday. Montgomery struck out two, ending the game with a 3.87 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 4 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST9:34 PM CST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Mike Montgomery fell to 4-5, allowing two runs - one earned - on two hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 11-1 on Tuesday. Montgomery struck out five, ending the game with a 3.76 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 30 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Mike Montgomery allowed four runs on eight hits and one walk in 4.1 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Atlanta Braves 5-4 on Thursday. Montgomery struck out six, ending the game with a 3.82 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 17 1:35 PM PT2:35 PM MT3:35 PM CT4:35 PM ET16:35 ET20:35 GMT4:35 1:35 PM MST3:35 PM EST2:35 PM CST4:05 PM VEN0:35 UAE (+1)3:35 PM CT-Montgomery (left shoulder inflammation) will return to the rotation Thursday against the Braves.
Analysis: Montgomery has gone 4-3 with a 3.08 ERA in 13 starts and owns a 5.13 ERA in 19 relief appearances.
Aug. 11 4:20 PM PT5:20 PM MT6:20 PM CT7:20 PM ET19:20 ET23:20 GMT7:20 4:20 PM MST6:20 PM EST5:20 PM CST6:50 PM VEN3:20 UAE (+1)6:20 PM CT-Mike Montgomery walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Washington Nationals 9-4 on Saturday. Montgomery struck out one, ending the game with a 3.62 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 8:06 PM PT9:06 PM MT10:06 PM CT11:06 PM ET23:06 ET3:06 GMT11:06 8:06 PM MST10:06 PM EST9:06 PM CST10:36 PM VEN7:06 UAE (+1)10:06 PM CT-Mike Montgomery improved to 4-4, allowing five hits and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Kansas City Royals 5-0 on Tuesday. Montgomery struck out four, ending the game with a 3.66 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 2 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Mike Montgomery allowed one run on seven hits and one walk in 5.1 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Diego Padres 6-1 on Thursday. Montgomery struck out two, ending the game with a 3.90 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
July 27 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Mike Montgomery fell to 3-4, allowing five runs on 12 hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-2 on Friday. Montgomery struck out three, ending the game with a 4.03 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
July 21 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST8:58 PM CST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)9:58 PM CT-Mike Montgomery allowed one run on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 6-3 on Saturday. Montgomery struck out three, ending the game with a 3.73 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
July 11 5:19 PM PT6:19 PM MT7:19 PM CT8:19 PM ET20:19 ET0:19 GMT8:19 5:19 PM MST7:19 PM EST6:19 PM CST7:49 PM VEN4:19 UAE (+1)7:19 PM CT-Mike Montgomery allowed four runs on eight hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Francisco Giants 5-4 on Wednesday. Montgomery struck out one, ending the game with a 3.91 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
July 6 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST3:34 PM CST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Mike Montgomery fell to 3-3, allowing three runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Cincinnati Reds 3-2 on Friday. Montgomery struck out two, ending the game with a 3.68 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
June 29 5:39 PM PT6:39 PM MT7:39 PM CT8:39 PM ET20:39 ET0:39 GMT8:39 5:39 PM MST7:39 PM EST6:39 PM CST8:09 PM VEN4:39 UAE (+1)7:39 PM CT-Mike Montgomery improved to 3-2, allowing five runs - three earned - on seven hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Minnesota Twins 10-6 on Friday. Montgomery struck out five, ending the game with a 3.55 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
June 24 1:00 PM PT2:00 PM MT3:00 PM CT4:00 PM ET16:00 ET20:00 GMT4:00 1:00 PM MST3:00 PM EST2:00 PM CST3:30 PM VEN0:00 UAE (+1)3:00 PM CT-Mike Montgomery allowed four runs on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Cincinnati Reds 8-6 on Sunday. Montgomery struck out six, ending the game with a 3.39 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
June 19 8:30 PM PT9:30 PM MT10:30 PM CT11:30 PM ET23:30 ET3:30 GMT11:30 8:30 PM MST10:30 PM EST9:30 PM CST11:00 PM VEN7:30 UAE (+1)10:30 PM CT-Mike Montgomery allowed one run on five hits and four walks in 6.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 2-1 on Tuesday. Montgomery struck out five, ending the game with a 3.11 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
June 13 2:08 PM PT3:08 PM MT4:08 PM CT5:08 PM ET17:08 ET21:08 GMT5:08 2:08 PM MST4:08 PM EST3:08 PM CST4:38 PM VEN1:08 UAE (+1)4:08 PM CT-Mike Montgomery fell to 2-2, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 1-0 on Wednesday. Montgomery struck out four, ending the game with a 3.31 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
June 8 2:25 PM PT3:25 PM MT4:25 PM CT5:25 PM ET17:25 ET21:25 GMT5:25 2:25 PM MST4:25 PM EST3:25 PM CST4:55 PM VEN1:25 UAE (+1)4:25 PM CT-Mike Montgomery improved to 2-1, allowing one run on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 3-1 on Friday. Montgomery struck out one, ending the game with a 3.56 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
June 3 9:16 PM PT10:16 PM MT11:16 PM CT12:16 AM ET0:16 ET4:16 GMT12:16 9:16 PM MST11:16 PM EST10:16 PM CST11:46 PM VEN8:16 UAE11:16 PM CT-Mike Montgomery allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the New York Mets 7-1 on Saturday. Montgomery struck out four, ending the game with a 3.89 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
May 28 1:33 PM PT2:33 PM MT3:33 PM CT4:33 PM ET16:33 ET20:33 GMT4:33 1:33 PM MST3:33 PM EST2:33 PM CST4:03 PM VEN0:33 UAE (+1)3:33 PM CT-Mike Montgomery improved to 1-1, allowing two hits over 5.2 scoreless innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-0 on Monday. Montgomery struck out five, ending the game with a 4.35 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
May 22 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST8:35 PM CST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Mike Montgomery allowed six runs on six hits and two walks in 2.1 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Cleveland Indians 10-1 on Tuesday. Montgomery struck out two, ending the game with a 5.33 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
May 19 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST8:14 PM CST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)9:14 PM CT-Mike Montgomery allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cincinnati Reds 10-0 on Saturday. Montgomery struck out two, ending the game with a 3.52 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
May 19 9:03 PM PT10:03 PM MT11:03 PM CT12:03 AM ET0:03 ET4:03 GMT12:03 9:03 PM MST11:03 PM EST10:03 PM CST11:33 PM VEN8:03 UAE11:03 PM CT-Mike Montgomery did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cincinnati Reds 8-1 on Friday. Montgomery struck out two, ending the game with a 3.68 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
May 15 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Mike Montgomery allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Atlanta Braves 3-2 on Tuesday. Montgomery did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
May 13 2:12 PM PT3:12 PM MT4:12 PM CT5:12 PM ET17:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST3:12 PM CST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-Mike Montgomery did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Chicago White Sox 5-3 on Sunday. Montgomery struck out one, ending the game with a 4.26 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
May 12 4:58 PM PT5:58 PM MT6:58 PM CT7:58 PM ET19:58 ET23:58 GMT7:58 4:58 PM MST6:58 PM EST5:58 PM CST7:28 PM VEN3:58 UAE (+1)6:58 PM CT-Mike Montgomery allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Chicago White Sox 8-4 on Saturday. Montgomery struck out one, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
May 9 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST3:39 PM CST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Mike Montgomery allowed one run on two hits in 1.1 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Miami Marlins 13-4 on Wednesday. Montgomery did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.58 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
May 7 10:57 PM PT11:57 PM MT12:57 AM CT1:57 AM ET1:57 ET5:57 GMT13:57 10:57 PM MST12:57 AM EST11:57 PM CST1:27 AM VEN9:57 UAE12:57 AM CT-Mike Montgomery walked one and didn't allow a hit in 3.0 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 4-3 on Sunday. Montgomery struck out two, ending the game with a 4.41 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
May 5 3:01 PM PT4:01 PM MT5:01 PM CT6:01 PM ET18:01 ET22:01 GMT6:01 3:01 PM MST5:01 PM EST4:01 PM CST5:31 PM VEN2:01 UAE (+1)5:01 PM CT-Mike Montgomery did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 8-6 on Saturday. Montgomery did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
May 2 2:28 PM PT3:28 PM MT4:28 PM CT5:28 PM ET17:28 ET21:28 GMT5:28 2:28 PM MST4:28 PM EST3:28 PM CST4:58 PM VEN1:28 UAE (+1)4:28 PM CT-Mike Montgomery allowed two runs on three hits and one walk in 2.1 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Colorado Rockies 11-2 on Wednesday. Montgomery struck out two, ending the game with a 5.84 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST8:04 PM CST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)9:04 PM CT-Mike Montgomery allowed one run on zero hits and one walk in 0.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Cleveland Indians 4-1 on Wednesday. Montgomery did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST10:12 PM CST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE11:12 PM CT-Mike Montgomery allowed one run on five hits and one walk in 3.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Colorado Rockies 16-5 on Friday. Montgomery struck out one, ending the game with a 4.82 ERA and 1.82 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 2:32 PM PT3:32 PM MT4:32 PM CT5:32 PM ET17:32 ET21:32 GMT5:32 2:32 PM MST4:32 PM EST3:32 PM CST5:02 PM VEN1:32 UAE (+1)4:32 PM CT-Mike Montgomery allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Atlanta Braves 4-0 on Friday. Montgomery did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.68 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST3:31 PM CST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-Mike Montgomery allowed three runs on three hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-5 on Tuesday. Montgomery struck out one, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 9:01 PM PT10:01 PM MT11:01 PM CT12:01 AM ET0:01 ET4:01 GMT12:01 9:01 PM MST11:01 PM EST10:01 PM CST11:31 PM VEN8:01 UAE11:01 PM CT-Mike Montgomery fell to 0-1, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 0.1 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-4 on Friday. Montgomery struck out one, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 8:10 PM PT9:10 PM MT10:10 PM CT11:10 PM ET23:10 ET3:10 GMT11:10 8:10 PM MST10:10 PM EST9:10 PM CST10:40 PM VEN7:10 UAE (+1)10:10 PM CT-Mike Montgomery did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Miami Marlins 10-6 on Saturday. Montgomery did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.33 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 9:35 PM PT10:35 PM MT11:35 PM CT12:35 AM ET0:35 ET4:35 GMT12:35 9:35 PM MST11:35 PM EST10:35 PM CST12:05 AM VEN8:35 UAE11:35 PM CT-Mike Montgomery allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Miami Marlins 2-1 on Friday. Montgomery did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.50 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 29 1:12 PM PT2:12 PM MT3:12 PM CT4:12 PM ET16:12 ET20:12 GMT4:12 1:12 PM MST3:12 PM EST2:12 PM CST3:42 PM VEN0:12 UAE (+1)3:12 PM CT-Mike Montgomery did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Miami Marlins 8-4 on Thursday. Montgomery did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Sea 4 6 0 - 0 16 16 2 90.0 92 49 46 11 37 1 64 1.43 4.60
2016 Sea 3 4 0 - 0 32 2 0 61.2 49 18 16 3 18 2 54 1.09 2.34
2016 ChC 1 1 0 - 0 17 5 0 38.1 30 15 12 5 20 0 38 1.30 2.82
2016 Tot 4 5 0 - 0 49 7 0 100.0 79 33 28 8 38 2 92 1.17 2.52
2017 ChC 7 8 3 - 3 44 14 0 130.2 103 52 49 10 55 4 100 1.21 3.38
2018 ChC 5 6 0 - 0 38 19 0 124.0 131 58 55 10 39 4 86 1.37 3.99
Career 20 25 3 - 3 147 56 2 444.2 405 192 178 39 169 11 342 1.29 3.60

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 Sea 16 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 ChC 17 11 2 1 0 0 0 1 0 5 0 0 .091 .091 .091
2016 Tot 49 11 2 1 0 0 0 1 0 5 0 0 .091 .091 .091
2017 ChC 44 27 5 5 1 0 1 3 0 10 0 0 .185 .185 .333
2018 ChC 39 33 1 3 0 0 0 1 1 20 0 0 .091 .118 .091
Career 148 74 8 9 1 0 1 5 1 37 0 0 .122 .133 .176

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2016 ChC Total 1 1 1 - 1 11 0 0 14.1 14 5 5 0 7 0 11 3.14
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 0 0 5.1 5 1 1 0 1 0 2 1.69
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.1 5 3 3 0 2 0 5 6.23
    WS 0 0 1 - 1 5 0 0 4.2 4 1 1 0 4 0 4 1.93
2017 ChC Total 0 0 0 - 0 5 0 0 4.1 14 9 8 3 4 1 4 16.62
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.0 4 3 3 1 2 1 1 27.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 3.1 10 6 5 2 2 0 3 13.50
Career 1 1 1 - 1 16 0 0 18.2 28 14 13 3 11 1 15 6.27

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 ChC Total 11 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .500 .500 .500
    LDS 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 4 1 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 1.000
Career 16 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .500 .500 .500


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 947 95 88 91.6 48.64
Curveball 424 80 72 77.3 21.78
Slider 185 93 83 88.2 9.5
Changeup 391 86 80 83.2 20.08

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.