MLB Baseball

#28
J.D. Martinez
AVG HR RBI
.308 9 29
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-3 / 232
Position: RFBorn: 8/21/1987 Birthplace: Miami, Florida
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 20th Round by Astros (2009)


Latest News
May 22 12:45 PM PT1:45 PM MT2:45 PM CT3:45 PM ET15:45 ET19:45 GMT3:45 12:45 PM MST2:45 PM EST1:45 PM CST3:15 PM VEN23:45 UAE2:45 PM CT-Martinez was held out of the lineup for Wednesday's game against the Toronto Blue Jays because of a sore back. Manager Alex Cora said the two-time All-Star isn't likely to return to the lineup until Friday.
Analysis: Martinez sat out the previous two games because of illness but had been expected to return Wednesday. He's hitting .308 with nine homers and 28 RBIs. Manager Alex Cora said he was hesitant to play Martinez in Thursday's finale, citing Toronto's artificial surface and the early 12:37 p.m. gametime. The Red Sox begin a three-game series at Houston on Friday.
May 19 2:06 PM PT3:06 PM MT4:06 PM CT5:06 PM ET17:06 ET21:06 GMT5:06 2:06 PM MST4:06 PM EST3:06 PM CST4:36 PM VEN1:06 UAE (+1)4:06 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 4 with an RBI Sunday as the Boston Red Sox beat the Houston Astros 4-3. He's now batting .308 with nine home runs this season.
May 18 7:51 PM PT8:51 PM MT9:51 PM CT10:51 PM ET22:51 ET2:51 GMT10:51 7:51 PM MST9:51 PM EST8:51 PM CST10:21 PM VEN6:51 UAE (+1)9:51 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the Houston Astros 7-3. Martinez scored once. He's now batting .315 with nine home runs this season.
May 17 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 3 with a double Friday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the Houston Astros 3-1. He's now batting .321 with nine home runs this season.
May 15 7:59 PM PT8:59 PM MT9:59 PM CT10:59 PM ET22:59 ET2:59 GMT10:59 7:59 PM MST9:59 PM EST8:59 PM CST10:29 PM VEN6:59 UAE (+1)9:59 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 2 for 4 with a home run and three RBIs Wednesday as the Boston Red Sox beat the Colorado Rockies 6-5. He's now batting .321 with nine home runs this season.
May 14 7:57 PM PT8:57 PM MT9:57 PM CT10:57 PM ET22:57 ET2:57 GMT10:57 7:57 PM MST9:57 PM EST8:57 PM CST10:27 PM VEN6:57 UAE (+1)9:57 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 2 for 5 with a home run and an RBI Tuesday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Colorado Rockies 5-4. He's now batting .316 with eight home runs this season.
May 12 1:32 PM PT2:32 PM MT3:32 PM CT4:32 PM ET16:32 ET20:32 GMT4:32 1:32 PM MST3:32 PM EST2:32 PM CST4:02 PM VEN0:32 UAE (+1)3:32 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 2 for 4 with two home runs and three RBIs Sunday as the Boston Red Sox beat the Seattle Mariners 11-2. Martinez scored three times. He's now batting .313 with seven home runs this season.
May 11 1:25 PM PT2:25 PM MT3:25 PM CT4:25 PM ET16:25 ET20:25 GMT4:25 1:25 PM MST3:25 PM EST2:25 PM CST3:55 PM VEN0:25 UAE (+1)3:25 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 3 Saturday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Seattle Mariners 9-5. Martinez scored once. He's now batting .308 with five home runs this season.
May 10 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 4 Friday as the Boston Red Sox beat the Seattle Mariners 14-1. Martinez scored once. He's now batting .308 with five home runs this season.
May 8 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST9:12 PM CST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 6 Wednesday as the Boston Red Sox beat the Baltimore Orioles 2-1. He's now batting .309 with five home runs this season.
May 7 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 2 with a home run and three RBIs Tuesday as the Boston Red Sox beat the Baltimore Orioles 8-5. Martinez scored twice. He's now batting .323 with five home runs this season.
May 6 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 4 Monday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the Baltimore Orioles 4-1. He's now batting .321 with four home runs this season.
May 5 2:48 PM PT3:48 PM MT4:48 PM CT5:48 PM ET17:48 ET21:48 GMT5:48 2:48 PM MST4:48 PM EST3:48 PM CST5:18 PM VEN1:48 UAE (+1)4:48 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 5 with an RBI Sunday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Chicago White Sox 9-2. He's now batting .331 with four home runs this season.
May 4 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST8:49 PM CST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 4 with a double and an RBI Saturday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Chicago White Sox 15-2. Martinez scored twice. He's now batting .336 with four home runs this season.
May 3 8:30 PM PT9:30 PM MT10:30 PM CT11:30 PM ET23:30 ET3:30 GMT11:30 8:30 PM MST10:30 PM EST9:30 PM CST11:00 PM VEN7:30 UAE (+1)10:30 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 3 for 5 with a double Friday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Chicago White Sox 6-1. Martinez scored once. He's now batting .339 with four home runs this season.
May 2 8:47 PM PT9:47 PM MT10:47 PM CT11:47 PM ET23:47 ET3:47 GMT11:47 8:47 PM MST10:47 PM EST9:47 PM CST11:17 PM VEN7:47 UAE (+1)10:47 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 3 for 4 with an RBI Thursday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Chicago White Sox 6-4. He's now batting .327 with four home runs this season.
May 1 1:02 PM PT2:02 PM MT3:02 PM CT4:02 PM ET16:02 ET20:02 GMT4:02 1:02 PM MST3:02 PM EST2:02 PM CST3:32 PM VEN0:02 UAE (+1)3:02 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Oakland Athletics 7-3. He's now batting .312 with four home runs this season.
Apr. 30 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Oakland Athletics 5-1. Martinez scored once. He's now batting .324 with four home runs this season.
Apr. 29 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST8:39 PM CST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)9:39 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 4 with two RBIs Monday as the Boston Red Sox beat the Oakland Athletics 9-4. Martinez scored once. He's now batting .337 with four home runs this season.
Apr. 27 12:48 PM PT1:48 PM MT2:48 PM CT3:48 PM ET15:48 ET19:48 GMT3:48 12:48 PM MST2:48 PM EST1:48 PM CST3:18 PM VEN23:48 UAE2:48 PM CT-Martinez rejoined the lineup Monday against the A's after sitting out the last two games because of back spasms.
Analysis: Martinez is batting a team-best .340 with four homers and 13 RBIs in 26 games.
Apr. 25 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST7:53 PM CST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)8:53 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 4 with an RBI Thursday as the Boston Red Sox beat the Detroit Tigers 7-3. He's now batting .340 with four home runs this season.
Apr. 24 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 3 for 5 with a double and an RBI Wednesday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Detroit Tigers 11-4. Martinez scored once. He's now batting .344 with four home runs this season.
Apr. 23 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 4-2. He's now batting .330 with four home runs this season.
Apr. 23 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST2:09 PM CST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 7-4. He's now batting .333 with four home runs this season.
Apr. 21 3:21 PM PT4:21 PM MT5:21 PM CT6:21 PM ET18:21 ET22:21 GMT6:21 3:21 PM MST5:21 PM EST4:21 PM CST5:51 PM VEN2:21 UAE (+1)5:21 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 3 Sunday as the Boston Red Sox beat the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3. Martinez added a stolen base. He's now batting .350 with four home runs this season.
Apr. 20 6:26 PM PT7:26 PM MT8:26 PM CT9:26 PM ET21:26 ET1:26 GMT9:26 6:26 PM MST8:26 PM EST7:26 PM CST8:56 PM VEN5:26 UAE (+1)8:26 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 3 Saturday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Tampa Bay Rays 6-5. Martinez scored once. He's now batting .351 with four home runs this season.
Apr. 19 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 3 with an RBI Friday as the Boston Red Sox beat the Tampa Bay Rays 6-4. Martinez scored once. He's now batting .351 with four home runs this season.
Apr. 17 6:37 PM PT7:37 PM MT8:37 PM CT9:37 PM ET21:37 ET1:37 GMT9:37 6:37 PM MST8:37 PM EST7:37 PM CST9:07 PM VEN5:37 UAE (+1)8:37 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 2 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Wednesday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the New York Yankees 5-3. He's now batting .352 with four home runs this season.
Apr. 16 6:05 PM PT7:05 PM MT8:05 PM CT9:05 PM ET21:05 ET1:05 GMT9:05 6:05 PM MST8:05 PM EST7:05 PM CST8:35 PM VEN5:05 UAE (+1)8:05 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the New York Yankees 8-0. He's now batting .338 with three home runs this season.
Apr. 15 11:27 AM PT12:27 PM MT1:27 PM CT2:27 PM ET14:27 ET18:27 GMT2:27 11:27 AM MST1:27 PM EST12:27 PM CST1:57 PM VEN22:27 UAE1:27 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 2 for 4 with a double Monday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Baltimore Orioles 8-1. He's now batting .344 with three home runs this season.
Apr. 14 1:16 PM PT2:16 PM MT3:16 PM CT4:16 PM ET16:16 ET20:16 GMT4:16 1:16 PM MST3:16 PM EST2:16 PM CST3:46 PM VEN0:16 UAE (+1)3:16 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 2 for 3 with a double Sunday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Baltimore Orioles 4-0. Martinez scored once. He's now batting .333 with three home runs this season.
Apr. 13 1:50 PM PT2:50 PM MT3:50 PM CT4:50 PM ET16:50 ET20:50 GMT4:50 1:50 PM MST3:50 PM EST2:50 PM CST4:20 PM VEN0:50 UAE (+1)3:50 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the Baltimore Orioles 9-5. He's now batting .316 with three home runs this season.
Apr. 12 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST8:08 PM CST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 4 with a double Friday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Baltimore Orioles 6-4. Martinez scored once. He's now batting .321 with three home runs this season.
Apr. 11 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST8:35 PM CST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 3 with a double and an RBI Thursday as the Boston Red Sox beat the Toronto Blue Jays 7-6. Martinez scored once. He's now batting .327 with three home runs this season.
Apr. 9 2:52 PM PT3:52 PM MT4:52 PM CT5:52 PM ET17:52 ET21:52 GMT5:52 2:52 PM MST4:52 PM EST3:52 PM CST5:22 PM VEN1:52 UAE (+1)4:52 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 4 with a double Tuesday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 7-5. Martinez scored once. He's now batting .326 with three home runs this season.
Apr. 7 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST4:41 PM CST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Boston Red Sox beat the Arizona Diamondbacks 1-0. He's now batting .333 with three home runs this season.
Apr. 6 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST9:35 PM CST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 2 Saturday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-4. He's now batting .359 with three home runs this season.
Apr. 5 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 4 Friday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 15-8. He's now batting .351 with three home runs this season.
Apr. 4 3:57 PM PT4:57 PM MT5:57 PM CT6:57 PM ET18:57 ET22:57 GMT6:57 3:57 PM MST5:57 PM EST4:57 PM CST6:27 PM VEN2:57 UAE (+1)5:57 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 2 for 5 with a home run and an RBI Thursday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Oakland Athletics 7-3. He's now batting .364 with three home runs this season.
Apr. 4 10:32 PM PT11:32 PM MT12:32 AM CT1:32 AM ET1:32 ET5:32 GMT13:32 10:32 PM MST12:32 AM EST11:32 PM CST1:02 AM VEN9:32 UAE12:32 AM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 3 Wednesday as the Boston Red Sox beat the Oakland Athletics 6-3. He's now batting .357 with two home runs this season.
Apr. 3 9:55 PM PT10:55 PM MT11:55 PM CT12:55 AM ET0:55 ET4:55 GMT12:55 9:55 PM MST11:55 PM EST10:55 PM CST12:25 AM VEN8:55 UAE11:55 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Oakland Athletics 1-0. He's now batting .360 with two home runs this season.
Apr. 2 9:53 PM PT10:53 PM MT11:53 PM CT12:53 AM ET0:53 ET4:53 GMT12:53 9:53 PM MST11:53 PM EST10:53 PM CST12:23 AM VEN8:53 UAE11:53 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 4 Monday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the Oakland Athletics 7-0. He's now batting .381 with two home runs this season.
Mar. 31 4:53 PM PT5:53 PM MT6:53 PM CT7:53 PM ET19:53 ET23:53 GMT7:53 4:53 PM MST6:53 PM EST5:53 PM CST7:23 PM VEN3:53 UAE (+1)6:53 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 2 for 3 with a home run and four RBIs Sunday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the Seattle Mariners 10-8. Martinez scored three times. He's now batting .412 with two home runs this season.
Mar. 31 9:24 PM PT10:24 PM MT11:24 PM CT12:24 AM ET0:24 ET4:24 GMT12:24 9:24 PM MST11:24 PM EST10:24 PM CST11:54 PM VEN8:24 UAE11:24 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 2 for 5 with an RBI Saturday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the Seattle Mariners 6-5. He's now batting .357 with one home run this season.
Mar. 30 10:34 PM PT11:34 PM MT12:34 AM CT1:34 AM ET1:34 ET5:34 GMT13:34 10:34 PM MST12:34 AM EST11:34 PM CST1:04 AM VEN9:34 UAE11:34 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Friday as the Boston Red Sox beat the Seattle Mariners 7-6. He's now batting .333 with one home run this season.
Mar. 28 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST8:48 PM CST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-J.D. Martinez went 2 for 5 with an RBI Thursday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the Seattle Mariners 12-4. He's now batting .400 with no home runs this season.
Mar. 15 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST3:07 PM CST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)3:07 PM CT-Martinez was back in the lineup, two days after being scratched because of back tightness. Martinez went 1 for 3 and played five innings in right field as the Red Sox lost 14-1 to the New York Yankees on Friday. He singled to shallow right and hit a pair of grounders.
Analysis: Martinez is hitting just .105 (2 for 19) with no homers in seven games. He failed to homer in 49 plate appearances during spring training last year, then went deep 43 times during the regular season. The home run total was the most by Red Sox player in his first season with the club.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 Hou 53 208 29 57 13 0 6 35 13 48 0 1 .274 .319 .423
2012 Hou 113 395 34 95 14 3 11 55 40 96 0 2 .241 .311 .375
2013 Hou 86 296 24 74 17 0 7 36 10 82 2 0 .250 .272 .378
2014 Det 123 441 57 139 30 3 23 76 30 126 6 3 .315 .358 .553
2015 Det 158 596 93 168 33 2 38 102 53 178 3 2 .282 .344 .535
2016 Det 120 460 69 141 35 2 22 68 49 128 1 2 .307 .373 .535
2017 Det 57 200 38 61 13 2 16 39 29 54 2 0 .305 .388 .630
2017 Ari 62 232 47 70 13 1 29 65 24 74 2 0 .302 .366 .741
2017 Tot 119 432 85 131 26 3 45 104 53 128 4 0 .303 .376 .690
2018 Bos 150 569 111 188 37 2 43 130 69 146 6 1 .330 .402 .629
2019 Bos 44 169 28 52 9 0 9 29 22 29 1 0 .308 .390 .521
Career 966 3566 530 1045 214 15 204 635 339 961 23 11 .293 .355 .533

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Det Total 3 12 2 3 1 0 2 5 0 4 0 0 .250 .250 .833
    LDS 3 12 2 3 1 0 2 5 0 4 0 0 .250 .250 .833
2017 Ari Total 4 15 2 4 0 0 1 1 1 6 0 0 .267 .313 .467
    WC 1 4 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .200 .000
    LDS 3 11 1 4 0 0 1 1 0 4 0 0 .364 .364 .636
2018 Bos Total 14 50 6 15 2 0 3 14 10 11 0 1 .300 .403 .520
    LDS 4 14 1 5 0 0 1 6 3 0 0 0 .357 .421 .571
    LCS 5 18 3 5 1 0 1 3 4 4 0 0 .278 .409 .500
    WS 5 18 2 5 1 0 1 5 3 7 0 1 .278 .381 .500
Career 21 77 10 22 3 0 6 20 11 21 0 1 .286 .367 .558


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.