MLB Baseball

#54
Wei-Yin Chen
ERA W-L K
4.66 6-11 110
Team: MiamiHt / Wt: 6-0 / 193
Position: SPBorn: 7/21/1985 Birthplace: Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: Undrafted by Orioles (2012)


Latest News
Sep. 21 6:51 PM PT7:51 PM MT8:51 PM CT9:51 PM ET21:51 ET1:51 GMT9:51 6:51 PM MST8:51 PM EST7:51 PM CST9:21 PM VEN5:51 UAE (+1)8:51 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed three hits without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Cincinnati Reds 1-0 on Friday. Chen struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.66 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 14 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen fell to 6-11, allowing five runs on seven hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 14-2 on Friday. Chen struck out four, ending the game with a 4.93 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 8 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST2:09 PM CST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen fell to 6-10, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-1 on Saturday. Chen struck out six, ending the game with a 4.72 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 1 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen improved to 6-9, allowing one run on three hits in 8.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 6-3 on Saturday. Chen struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.64 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 25 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST8:08 PM CST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen improved to 5-9, allowing six hits and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Miami Marlins defeated the Atlanta Braves 3-1 on Saturday. Chen struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST8:49 PM CST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed two runs on five hits in 5.2 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Washington Nationals 7-5 on Saturday. Chen struck out three, ending the game with a 5.20 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 1:13 PM PT2:13 PM MT3:13 PM CT4:13 PM ET16:13 ET20:13 GMT4:13 1:13 PM MST3:13 PM EST2:13 PM CST3:43 PM VEN0:13 UAE (+1)3:13 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen fell to 4-9, allowing four runs - two earned - on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the New York Mets 4-3 on Sunday. Chen struck out six, ending the game with a 5.32 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 6 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST8:19 PM CST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)9:19 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen improved to 4-8, allowing one hit and two walks over 5.2 scoreless innings, as the Miami Marlins defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 2-1 on Monday. Chen struck out four, ending the game with a 5.48 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
July 30 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST8:34 PM CST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen fell to 3-8, allowing five runs on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Atlanta Braves 5-3 on Monday. Chen struck out one, ending the game with a 5.86 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
July 24 11:51 AM PT12:51 PM MT1:51 PM CT2:51 PM ET14:51 ET18:51 GMT2:51 11:51 AM MST1:51 PM EST12:51 PM CST2:21 PM VEN22:51 UAE1:51 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen improved to 3-7, allowing three runs on five hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins defeated the Atlanta Braves 9-3 on Tuesday. Chen struck out four, ending the game with a 5.65 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
July 13 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen fell to 2-7, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 2-0 on Friday. Chen struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.75 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
July 7 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen fell to 2-6, allowing seven runs on seven hits and two walks in 4.1 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Washington Nationals 18-4 on Saturday. Chen struck out three, ending the game with a 6.14 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
July 2 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST8:20 PM CST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one run - zero earned - on three hits in 6.0 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 3-2 on Monday. Chen struck out five, ending the game with a 5.55 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
June 27 7:06 PM PT8:06 PM MT9:06 PM CT10:06 PM ET22:06 ET2:06 GMT10:06 7:06 PM MST9:06 PM EST8:06 PM CST9:36 PM VEN6:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen fell to 2-5, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 2-1 on Wednesday. Chen struck out five, ending the game with a 6.14 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
June 22 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET3:38 GMT11:38 8:38 PM MST10:38 PM EST9:38 PM CST11:08 PM VEN7:38 UAE (+1)10:38 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen fell to 2-4, allowing seven runs on nine hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Colorado Rockies 11-3 on Friday. Chen struck out three, ending the game with a 6.70 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
June 16 3:53 PM PT4:53 PM MT5:53 PM CT6:53 PM ET18:53 ET22:53 GMT6:53 3:53 PM MST5:53 PM EST4:53 PM CST6:23 PM VEN2:53 UAE (+1)5:53 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen improved to 2-3, allowing three runs on eight hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-4 on Saturday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with a 5.91 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
June 11 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed four runs on six hits and four walks in 4.1 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the San Francisco Giants 7-5 on Monday. Chen struck out five, ending the game with a 6.13 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
June 6 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST9:41 PM CST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)10:41 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed two runs on six hits and two walks in 4.1 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 11-3 on Wednesday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with a 5.86 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
June 1 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST10:12 PM CST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE11:12 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen fell to 1-3, allowing four runs on four hits and two walks in 1.2 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the San Diego Padres 8-3 on Thursday. Chen struck out four, ending the game with a 6.10 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
May 26 4:09 PM PT5:09 PM MT6:09 PM CT7:09 PM ET19:09 ET23:09 GMT7:09 4:09 PM MST6:09 PM EST5:09 PM CST6:39 PM VEN3:09 UAE (+1)6:09 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one run on three hits and two walks in 7.1 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Washington Nationals 4-1 on Saturday. Chen struck out six.
Analysis: Chen's 7 1/3-inning outing was his longest in more than a year. The left-hander retired 13 in a row during one stretch and has lowered his ERA from 10.22 to 5.22 by allowing a total of three runs in his past three starts.
May 20 2:02 PM PT3:02 PM MT4:02 PM CT5:02 PM ET17:02 ET21:02 GMT5:02 2:02 PM MST4:02 PM EST3:02 PM CST4:32 PM VEN1:02 UAE (+1)4:02 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed two runs on five hits and one walk in 5.1 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Atlanta Braves 10-9 on Sunday. Chen struck out five, ending the game with a 6.55 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
May 15 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed three hits and three walks without giving up a run in 4.1 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-2 on Tuesday. Chen struck out three, ending the game with a 7.56 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.
May 9 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST3:39 PM CST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen fell to 1-2, allowing nine runs on seven hits and two walks in 3.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Chicago Cubs 13-4 on Wednesday. Chen struck out one, ending the game with a 10.22 ERA and 1.95 WHIP on the season.
May 4 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen fell to 1-1, allowing four runs on five hits and four walks in 4.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Cincinnati Reds 4-1 on Friday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with a 4.82 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen improved to 1-0, allowing one run on four hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Miami Marlins defeated the Colorado Rockies 4-1 on Saturday. Chen struck out three, ending the game with a 1.69 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2012 Bal 12 11 0 - 0 32 32 0 192.2 186 97 86 29 57 0 154 1.26 4.02
2013 Bal 7 7 0 - 0 23 23 0 137.0 142 62 62 17 39 2 104 1.32 4.07
2014 Bal 16 6 0 - 0 31 31 0 185.2 193 77 73 23 35 2 136 1.23 3.54
2015 Bal 11 8 0 - 0 31 31 0 191.1 192 78 71 28 41 0 153 1.22 3.34
2016 Mia 5 5 0 - 0 22 22 0 123.1 134 69 68 22 24 0 100 1.28 4.96
2017 Mia 2 1 0 - 0 9 5 0 33.0 25 14 14 3 9 0 25 1.03 3.82
2018 Mia 6 11 0 - 0 25 25 0 129.1 124 70 67 19 44 6 110 1.30 4.66
Career 59 49 0 - 0 173 169 0 992.1 996 467 441 141 249 10 782 1.25 4.00

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Bal 32 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Bal 23 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Bal 31 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Mia 22 44 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 18 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Mia 9 8 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .125 .125 .125
2018 Mia 26 39 2 6 1 0 0 2 0 17 0 0 .154 .154 .179
Career 174 97 2 7 1 0 0 2 0 41 0 0 .072 .072 .082

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2012 Bal Total 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.1 8 2 1 0 1 0 3 1.42
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.1 8 2 1 0 1 0 3 1.42
2014 Bal Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.0 14 7 7 2 1 0 7 6.52
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.2 7 5 5 2 0 0 3 12.27
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.1 7 2 2 0 1 0 4 3.38
Career 1 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 15.1 22 9 8 2 2 0 10 4.70


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1203 95 87 90.2 55.9
Curveball 222 78 67 73 10.32
Slider 470 89 80 84.4 21.84
Changeup 257 87 77 82.4 11.94

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.