MLB Baseball

#41
Joe Ross
ERA W-L K
5.48 3-3 38
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-4 / 220
Position: SPBorn: 5/21/1993 Birthplace: Berkeley, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Padres (2011)


Latest News
Aug. 19 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST8:27 PM CST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)9:27 PM CT-Ross, who left Monday's start against the Pirates in the third inning after taking a ground ball off his right leg, is slated to make his next scheduled start Saturday against the Cubs.
Analysis: X-rays on Ross' leg did come up negative, though he was spotted wearing a bandage in the locker room after Monday's 13-0 win. The right-hander threw 3 1/3 scoreless innings with two strikeouts before exiting, and he's now yielded just one run and 12 hits in 21 1/3 innings over his last four starts.
Aug. 13 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Joe Ross improved to 3-3, allowing one run on five hits and two walks in 6.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 3-1 on Tuesday. Ross struck out three, ending the game with a 5.91 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 3:48 PM PT4:48 PM MT5:48 PM CT6:48 PM ET18:48 ET22:48 GMT6:48 3:48 PM MST5:48 PM EST4:48 PM CST6:18 PM VEN2:48 UAE (+1)5:48 PM CT-Joe Ross improved to 2-3, allowing three hits and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the San Francisco Giants 4-1 on Wednesday. Ross struck out five, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.75 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 9:27 PM PT10:27 PM MT11:27 PM CT12:27 AM ET0:27 ET4:27 GMT12:27 9:27 PM MST11:27 PM EST10:27 PM CST11:57 PM VEN8:27 UAE11:27 PM CT-Joe Ross improved to 1-3, allowing one hit and five walks over 5.1 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-0 on Friday. Ross struck out three, ending the game with an 8.10 ERA and 1.93 WHIP on the season.
July 27 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST5:14 PM CST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)6:14 PM CT-Joe Ross fell to 0-3, allowing seven runs - six earned - on nine hits and two walks in 4.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 9-3 on Saturday. Ross struck out seven, ending the game with a 9.85 ERA and 2.11 WHIP on the season.
July 21 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Joe Ross fell to 0-2, allowing three runs on eight hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 7-1 on Sunday. Ross struck out six, ending the game with a 9.45 ERA and 2.05 WHIP on the season.
June 22 8:04 PM PT9:04 PM MT10:04 PM CT11:04 PM ET23:04 ET3:04 GMT11:04 8:04 PM MST10:04 PM EST9:04 PM CST10:34 PM VEN7:04 UAE (+1)10:04 PM CT-Joe Ross fell to 0-1, allowing four runs on five hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 13-9 on Saturday. Ross did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 11.05 ERA and 2.11 WHIP on the season.
May 24 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Joe Ross allowed three runs on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Miami Marlins 12-10 on Friday. Ross struck out one, ending the game with a 9.22 ERA and 1.83 WHIP on the season.
May 22 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)9:12 PM CT-Joe Ross did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Mets 6-1 on Wednesday. Ross did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.82 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
May 20 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST8:27 PM CST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)9:27 PM CT-Joe Ross allowed one run - zero earned - on zero hits and one walk in 1.2 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Mets 5-3 on Monday. Ross struck out three, ending the game with an 8.03 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
May 17 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST9:18 PM CST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-Joe Ross allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Chicago Cubs 14-6 on Friday. Ross did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 9.28 ERA and 1.97 WHIP on the season.
May 14 6:48 PM PT7:48 PM MT8:48 PM CT9:48 PM ET21:48 ET1:48 GMT9:48 6:48 PM MST8:48 PM EST7:48 PM CST9:18 PM VEN5:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Joe Ross allowed one run on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Mets 6-2 on Tuesday. Ross did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 9.58 ERA and 1.94 WHIP on the season.
May 11 10:13 PM PT11:13 PM MT12:13 AM CT1:13 AM ET1:13 ET5:13 GMT13:13 10:13 PM MST12:13 AM EST11:13 PM CST12:43 AM VEN9:13 UAE12:13 AM CT-Joe Ross did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-0 on Friday. Ross struck out two, ending the game with a 9.64 ERA and 1.93 WHIP on the season.
May 7 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Joe Ross did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-0 on Tuesday. Ross struck out one, ending the game with a 10.80 ERA and 2.16 WHIP on the season.
May 4 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST9:18 PM CST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-Joe Ross blew his first save, allowing five runs on five hits and one walk in 0.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 10-8 on Saturday. Ross did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 12.27 ERA and 2.45 WHIP on the season.
May 1 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)9:12 PM CT-Joe Ross allowed two runs on two hits and one walk without recording an out as the Washington Nationals lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-1 on Wednesday. Ross did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.43 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Joe Ross did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2 on Tuesday. Ross did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 2:41 PM PT3:41 PM MT4:41 PM CT5:41 PM ET17:41 ET21:41 GMT5:41 2:41 PM MST4:41 PM EST3:41 PM CST5:11 PM VEN1:41 UAE (+1)4:41 PM CT-Joe Ross allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the San Diego Padres 7-6 on Sunday. Ross struck out one, ending the game with a 4.05 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 4:55 PM PT5:55 PM MT6:55 PM CT7:55 PM ET19:55 ET23:55 GMT7:55 4:55 PM MST6:55 PM EST5:55 PM CST7:25 PM VEN3:55 UAE (+1)6:55 PM CT-Joe Ross allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the San Diego Padres 8-3 on Saturday. Ross struck out one, ending the game with a 4.76 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 8:57 PM PT9:57 PM MT10:57 PM CT11:57 PM ET23:57 ET3:57 GMT11:57 8:57 PM MST10:57 PM EST9:57 PM CST11:27 PM VEN7:57 UAE (+1)10:57 PM CT-Joe Ross did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Colorado Rockies 6-3 on Tuesday. Ross did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.79 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Joe Ross allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Miami Marlins 3-2 on Friday. Ross struck out one, ending the game with a 6.23 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 8:04 PM PT9:04 PM MT10:04 PM CT11:04 PM ET23:04 ET3:04 GMT11:04 8:04 PM MST10:04 PM EST9:04 PM CST10:34 PM VEN7:04 UAE (+1)10:04 PM CT-Joe Ross allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 10-6 on Tuesday. Ross struck out two, ending the game with an 11.57 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 1:58 PM PT2:58 PM MT3:58 PM CT4:58 PM ET16:58 ET20:58 GMT4:58 1:58 PM MST3:58 PM EST2:58 PM CST4:28 PM VEN0:58 UAE (+1)3:58 PM CT-Joe Ross allowed three runs on one hit and one walk in 0.1 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 12-9 on Sunday. Ross did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 81.00 ERA and 6.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Was 5 5 0 - 0 16 13 0 76.2 64 33 31 7 21 0 69 1.11 3.64
2016 Was 7 5 0 - 0 19 19 0 105.0 108 43 40 9 29 3 93 1.30 3.43
2017 Was 5 3 0 - 0 13 13 0 73.2 88 44 41 16 20 2 68 1.47 5.01
2018 Was 0 2 0 - 0 3 3 0 16.0 17 10 9 3 4 0 7 1.31 5.06
2019 Was 3 3 0 - 2 23 5 0 46.0 51 30 28 5 22 1 38 1.59 5.48
Career 20 18 0 - 2 74 53 0 317.1 328 160 149 40 96 6 275 1.34 4.23

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 Was 17 27 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 11 0 0 .111 .143 .111
2016 Was 23 41 2 10 2 0 0 1 3 15 0 0 .244 .295 .293
2017 Was 20 33 1 6 2 0 0 1 1 16 0 0 .182 .206 .242
2018 Was 3 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Was 24 13 1 2 0 0 0 0 1 7 0 0 .154 .214 .154
Career 87 119 6 21 4 0 0 2 5 52 0 0 .176 .216 .210

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2016 Was Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.2 3 4 4 1 2 0 3 13.50
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.2 3 4 4 1 2 0 3 13.50
Career 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.2 3 4 4 1 2 0 3 13.50

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Was Total 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 523 97 91 94.1 63.55
Curveball 69 84 79 81.4 8.38
Slider 176 91 84 88.1 21.39
Changeup 55 90 85 87.8 6.68

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.