Wallace to drive for Hamlin-owned team

(AP Photo/Chuck Burton, File)

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (AP) Denny Hamlin has joined Charlotte Hornets owner Michael Jordan to form a NASCAR team with Bubba Wallace as the driver, a high-profile pairing of a Black majority team owner and the only Black driver at NASCAR's top level.

The partnership was announced Monday night in coordinated social media posts by Jordan and Hamlin, with Wallace adding his own comment. The posts showed a picture of Jordan alongside a firesuit-clad Hamlin in a motorhome at a race track.

"Historically, NASCAR has struggled with diversity and there have been few Black owners," Jordan said in his statement. "The timing seemed perfect as NASCAR is evolving and embracing social change more and more."

Read More...

NASCAR Schedule
NASCAR CupSouth Point 400Sep. 274:00 PT5:00 MT6:00 CT7:00 ET19:00 ET23:00 GMT7:00 北京时间4:00 MST5:00 CST6:00 EST3:00 UAE (+1)6:00 CT1:00 CET20:00 BRT TV: NBCSN
XFINITYAlsco 300 at Las VegasSep. 264:30 PT5:30 MT6:30 CT7:30 ET19:30 ET23:30 GMT7:30 北京时间4:30 MST5:30 CST6:30 EST3:30 UAE (+1)6:30 CT1:30 CET20:30 BRT TV: NBCSN
Gander RV & Outdoors TruckWorld of Westgate 200Sep. 256:00 PT7:00 MT8:00 CT9:00 ET21:00 ET1:00 GMT9:00 北京时间6:00 MST7:00 CST8:00 EST5:00 UAE (+1)8:00 CT3:00 CET22:00 BRT TV: FS1
NASCAR Leaders: Points
RankDriverPointsWins
1 K.Harvick 3067 9
2 D.Hamlin 3048 6
3 B.Keselowski 3035 4
4 J.Logano 3022 2
5 C.Elliott 3021 2
6 M.Truex Jr. 3016 1
7 A.Bowman 3009 1
8 A.Dillon 3005 1
9 A.Almirola 3005 0
10 K.Busch 3004 0
11 C.Bowyer 3004 0
12 K.Busch 3001 0
View Full Leaderboard

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2020 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFROM is strictly prohibited.