MLB Baseball

#22
Steven Matz
ERA W-L K
4.26 7-3 75
Team: TorontoHt / Wt: 6-2 / 201
Position: SPBorn: 5/29/1991 Birthplace: Stony Brook, New York
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: 2nd Round by Mets (2009)


Latest News
June 13 11:56 AM PT12:56 PM MT1:56 PM CT2:56 PM ET14:56 ET18:56 GMT2:56 11:56 AM MST1:56 PM EST12:56 PM CST2:26 PM VEN22:56 UAE12:56 PM CT-Matz has tested positive for COVID-19 and will have to isolate for 10 days before rejoining the Blue Jays.
Analysis: That figures to sideline Matz, who leads the Blue Jays with seven wins, until at least late June. It's unclear who will take the available rotation spot, with top prospect Nate Pearson a possible option to be recalled from Triple-A.
June 12 4:24 PM PT5:24 PM MT6:24 PM CT7:24 PM ET19:24 ET23:24 GMT7:24 4:24 PM MST6:24 PM EST5:24 PM CST6:54 PM VEN3:24 UAE (+1)5:24 PM CT-Steven Matz improved to 7-3, allowing one run on four hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Boston Red Sox 7-2 on Saturday. Matz struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.26 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
June 6 1:44 PM PT2:44 PM MT3:44 PM CT4:44 PM ET16:44 ET20:44 GMT4:44 1:44 PM MST3:44 PM EST2:44 PM CST4:14 PM VEN0:44 UAE (+1)2:44 PM CT-Steven Matz fell to 6-3, allowing four runs on eight hits and four walks in 4.1 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Houston Astros 6-3 on Sunday. Matz struck out three, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
May 30 3:32 PM PT4:32 PM MT5:32 PM CT6:32 PM ET18:32 ET22:32 GMT6:32 3:32 PM MST5:32 PM EST4:32 PM CST6:02 PM VEN2:32 UAE (+1)4:32 PM CT-Steven Matz allowed four runs - two earned - on four hits in 5.0 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Cleveland Indians 6-5 on Sunday. Matz struck out four, ending the game with a 4.22 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
May 25 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)8:21 PM CT-Steven Matz improved to 6-2, allowing one run on six hits in 6.2 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the New York Yankees 6-2 on Tuesday. Matz struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.28 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
May 20 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST9:09 PM CST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Steven Matz allowed five runs on 10 hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Boston Red Sox 8-7 on Thursday. Matz struck out four, ending the game with a 4.69 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
May 14 8:43 PM PT9:43 PM MT10:43 PM CT11:43 PM ET23:43 ET3:43 GMT11:43 8:43 PM MST10:43 PM EST9:43 PM CST11:13 PM VEN7:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-Steven Matz allowed four hits and three walks without giving up a run in 5.0 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 5-1 on Friday. Matz struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.29 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
May 8 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST8:26 PM CST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)8:26 PM CT-Steven Matz improved to 5-2, allowing three runs on eight hits in 5.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Houston Astros 8-4 on Saturday. Matz struck out four, ending the game with a 4.86 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
May 4 9:30 PM PT10:30 PM MT11:30 PM CT12:30 AM ET0:30 ET4:30 GMT12:30 9:30 PM MST11:30 PM EST10:30 PM CST12:00 AM VEN8:30 UAE10:30 PM CT-Steven Matz fell to 4-2, allowing five runs on seven hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Oakland Athletics 5-4 on Monday. Matz struck out six, ending the game with a 4.78 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)8:05 PM CT-Steven Matz fell to 4-1, allowing six runs on eight hits and one walk in 3.2 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Washington Nationals 8-2 on Wednesday. Matz struck out two, ending the game with a 4.00 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST7:59 PM CST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-Steven Matz improved to 4-0, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 5-3 on Friday. Matz struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.31 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 1:27 PM PT2:27 PM MT3:27 PM CT4:27 PM ET16:27 ET20:27 GMT4:27 1:27 PM MST3:27 PM EST2:27 PM CST3:57 PM VEN0:27 UAE (+1)2:27 PM CT-Steven Matz improved to 3-0, allowing one run on two hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Kansas City Royals 5-1 on Saturday. Matz struck out five, ending the game with a 1.47 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 10:11 PM PT11:11 PM MT12:11 AM CT1:11 AM ET1:11 ET5:11 GMT13:11 10:11 PM MST12:11 AM EST11:11 PM CST12:41 AM VEN9:11 UAE11:11 PM CT-Steven Matz improved to 2-0, allowing one run on five hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Los Angeles Angels 15-1 on Saturday. Matz struck out four, ending the game with a 1.46 ERA and 0.89 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 4:16 PM PT5:16 PM MT6:16 PM CT7:16 PM ET19:16 ET23:16 GMT7:16 4:16 PM MST6:16 PM EST5:16 PM CST6:46 PM VEN3:16 UAE (+1)5:16 PM CT-Steven Matz improved to 1-0, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 6.1 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Texas Rangers 6-2 on Monday. Matz struck out nine, ending the game with a 1.42 ERA and 0.47 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 NYM 4 0 0 - 0 6 6 0 35.2 34 9 9 4 10 0 34 1.23 2.27
2016 NYM 9 8 0 - 0 22 22 0 132.1 129 53 50 14 31 2 129 1.21 3.40
2017 NYM 2 7 0 - 0 13 13 0 66.2 83 46 45 12 19 2 48 1.53 6.08
2018 NYM 5 11 0 - 0 30 30 0 154.0 134 77 68 25 58 2 152 1.25 3.97
2019 NYM 11 10 0 - 0 32 30 1 160.1 163 83 75 27 52 7 153 1.34 4.21
2020 NYM 0 5 0 - 0 9 6 0 30.2 42 33 33 14 10 0 36 1.70 9.68
2021 Tor 7 3 0 - 0 13 13 0 69.2 73 35 33 9 21 0 75 1.35 4.26
Career 38 44 0 - 0 125 120 1 649.1 658 336 313 105 201 13 627 1.32 4.34

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 NYM 6 14 1 4 1 0 0 5 0 1 0 0 .286 .286 .357
2016 NYM 24 36 0 5 1 1 0 2 4 11 0 0 .139 .220 .222
2017 NYM 17 21 1 3 0 0 0 1 0 7 0 0 .143 .143 .143
2018 NYM 30 46 2 5 1 0 2 4 3 13 0 0 .109 .163 .261
2019 NYM 36 57 4 13 0 0 1 1 0 17 0 0 .228 .228 .281
Career 135 174 8 30 3 1 3 13 7 49 0 0 .172 .203 .253

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2015 NYM Total 0 2 0 - 0 6 6 0 29.1 34 12 12 0 8 2 26 3.68
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 6 3 3 0 2 1 4 5.40
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.2 4 1 1 0 2 0 4 1.93
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 7 2 2 0 0 0 5 3.60
Career 0 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 14.2 17 6 6 0 4 1 13 3.68

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 NYM Total 6 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 3 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 559 97 92 94.9 47.29
Curveball 196 81 74 78 16.58
Slider 146 92 84 88.9 12.35
Changeup 281 88 83 85.8 23.77

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.